Candidates Open for Delta Municipal Elections

Nominations are now open for candidates in the upcoming municipal elections, and residents will know for sure next Friday afternoon if anyone shows up to challenge incumbent Mayor George Harvie and his team of council hopefuls.

On Saturday, October 15, Delta residents will go to the polls to elect a mayor, six city councilors and seven school trustees for a four-year term.

The official nomination period began at 9 a.m. on Tuesday (August 30), with a deadline of 4 p.m. on September 9 for candidates to submit their applications.

So far, George Harvie and his slate of Reach for Delta board candidates are the only ones vying for those jobs. If no one else throws their hat in the ring, Harvie and current school trustees Alicia Guichon and Dylan Kruger will all be acclaimed for a second term alongside the other four candidates for the Achieving for Delta board: current school trustees Daniel Boisvert and Jessie Dosanjh, Parks and Recreation Commissioner Rod Binder and local businesswoman Jennifer Johal.

As for the Delta School Board, voters will have at least two choices to make when filling out their ballots. Outgoing directors Bruce Reid and Nick Kanakos are running for re-election under the Independents Working for You banner, while directors Erica Beard and Val Windsor are running with Harvie’s Achieving for Delta slate alongside Sher-E-Punjab host Radio Nimmi Daula, Registered Clinical Advisor Dr. Ammen Dhillon, Community Advocate Masako Gooch, Chartered Director Maury Kask and Architect and former Delta District PAC Chair Joe Muego.

Whether or not other candidates run, there will be significant turnover on city council and the school board following the election. Four of the current six councilors – Dan Copeland, Lois Jackson, Jeannie Kanakos and Bruce McDonald – have said they will not seek re-election, as has longtime administrator Laura Dixon, and Boisvert and Dosanjh will not return to council. whether or not they are successful in running for council seats.

The general vote takes place on Saturday, October 15 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Advance voting will be available from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Saturday, October 1, Wednesday, October 5, and Thursday, October 6 at the North Delta Center. for the Arts (11425 84th Ave.), Pinewood Elementary School (11777 Pinewood Dr.), Delta city hall (4500 Clarence Taylor Crescent) and the South Delta Recreation Center (1720 56th St.).

For those wishing to vote by mail, the application period opens on September 1 and ends on September 30.

Full election details, including key dates and a list of places to vote, can be found online at

[email protected]
Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

BCDelta municipal electionElection 2022Municipal election

Melissa C. Keyes