First board meeting held; Ujjain Municipal Corporation will continue to have 6 area offices

The first meeting of the newly elected 55-member UMC Council takes place in Ujjain on Thursday | PHOTO PF

Ujjain (Madhya Pradesh): Municipal areas will continue to operate as before. Teachers’ Day will be celebrated by the Ujjain Municipal Corporation (UMC) on September 5, following its previous tradition. A five-member committee under the chairmanship of Senior Corporal Prakash Sharma was formed to host the event.

These decisions were taken at the first meeting of the newly elected UMC Council which was held at Chhatrapati Shivaji Bhavan meeting hall on Thursday. President Kalavati Yadav chaired the discussions. Mayor Mukesh Tatwal also participated. The meeting started by singing Vandematram. The ruling party, the BJP, proposed to keep the 6 zones of the UMC. In this regard, the Opposition Congress cited the municipal law, according to which the number of wards in the area should be fixed, at present there are 7 wards in some areas and up to 11 wards in some other areas.

Members of the ruling party argued that people have gotten used to this zone system and that changing it now would cause problems. The resolution was adopted by majority. Neighborhood committees were formed in the same areas as during the previous council. In addition, other instructions are given. Opposing the formation of the neighborhood committee, opposition leader Ravi Rai said it was not in line with the rules. There are 7 wards in some areas and there are about 11 wards in some areas, which causes a problem of dividing the area budget according to the ward.

(To receive our electronic document daily on WhatsApp, please click here. To receive it on Telegram, please click here. We allow sharing of the PDF of the document on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Melissa C. Keyes