MP Municipal Election Phase 1 Result 2022 HIGHLIGHTS: BJP sweeps polls but loses four municipalities to AAP, Cong

Madhya Pradesh Municipal Election Phase 1 Result: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday thanked the winning BJP candidates, party workers and voters “for putting their faith in the BJP in Madhya Pradesh’s civic polls”. After the BJP’s resounding victory in the first phase of the state’s municipal election results, Prime Minister Modi took to Twitter and said, “This victory is a symbol of the people’s unwavering faith in the @ChouhanShivraj state government. Congratulations to the party workers and to all the winning candidates. Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan also congratulated the winners and thanked voters after the BJP victory in seven municipalities including Satna, Sagar, Khandwa Ujjain, Bhopal, Indore and Burhanpur. However, the BJP suffered a setback by losing four municipalities to the opposition. The Congress emerged victorious over the municipal corporations of Chhindwara, Gwalior and Jabalpur, the stronghold of Kamal Nath. A few days after Delhi Chief Minister and AAP National Organizer Arvind Kejriwal’s road show in Singrauli, the party’s mayoral candidate Rani Agarwal recorded a big win in the Singrauli Municipal Corporation, the second-largest body the state’s wealthiest local by income, beating BJP’s Chandra Pratap Vishwakarma by 9,159 votes. A delighted Kejriwal took to Twitter to celebrate Agarwal’s victory and said people everywhere were noticing the AAP’s “honest politics”. The BJP won councilor elections in the municipalities, winning 71 out of 85 wards in Indore, 55 out of 85 wards in Bhopal, 39 out of 79 wards in Jabalpur, 35 out of 66 wards in Gwalior, 37 out of 54 wards in Ujjain, 30 out of 50 wards in Khandwa, 40 out of 48 wards in Sagar, 24 out of 45 in Singrauli and 24 out of 48 in Burhanpur. However, no party managed to secure a majority in the Kamal Nath stronghold, Chhindwara, with the BJP winning 15 and the Congress 16 out of 48 wards. Similarly, the BJP won 20 and the Congress won 19 of Satna’s 45 wards.

Earlier in the day, Indore mayoral candidate Sanjay Shukla, while claiming he was harassed by local police and administration, sat on the dharna outside the Indore stadium. He alleged that despite having valid passes, congressional workers were not allowed to enter the stadium where the counting is taking place.

Counting of votes for the first phase of municipal elections in Madhya Pradesh began at 9am on Sunday. Elections for 133 civic bodies, including 11 municipal corporations, 36 municipal councils and 86 municipal councils of the first phase were held on July 6. The BJP won 108 of 133 civic bodies. The first phase saw a participation rate of 61%. The counting of the second phase of the elections of the urban bodies will take place on July 20.

Live updates

MP Municipal Election Phase 1 Result, List of Winners 2022 Live: See Madhya Pradesh Local Bodies Election Results 2022 Live News, Madhya Pradesh Nagar Panchayat Phase 1 Election Result 2022 Live News

Melissa C. Keyes