Preliminary Lists of Municipal Election Candidates for Chilliwack – Chilliwack Progress

A preliminary list of candidates for the municipal elections in Chilliwack has been published online by Civic Info BC.

Friday at 4 p.m. is the nomination deadline for all candidates who will run in the 2022 municipal elections.

Votes will be held in Chilliwack for City Council, School District 33, Cultus Lake Park Council and Fraser Valley Regional District Areas D, E and H.

Candidates declared from 1 p.m., in alphabetical order of first names. This story will be updated after 4 p.m. on Friday, September 9 with the final names.

Mayor (1):

Ian Carmichael

Ken Popove (starter)

City Council (6):

Brent Bowker

Bud Mercer

Chris Kloot

Craig Hill

Debora Soutar

Harv Westering

Jared Mumford

Jeff Shields

Mike McLatchy

Nicole Huitema Read

School District 33 (7):

Barry Neufeld (incumbent)

Brian Van Garderen

Carin Bondar (holder)

Darrell Furgason (incumbent)

David Swankey (incumbent)

Elliott Friesen

Greg Nelmes

Heather Maahs (incumbent)

kaethe jones

Marguerite Reid

Richard Proce

Teri Westerby

Willow Reichelt (incumbent)

Cultus Lake Park Council (2 elected by Chilliwack residents, 3 by Cultus residents):

• City of Chilliwack

Darcy Bauer (holder)

Kirk Dzamen (holder)

• Cultus Lake

Casey Smit (starter)

Christy ovens

Cory D. Pickering

Erika K. Jartved

John A. Beesley

Larry Payer (incumbent)

Tom G. Moul


• Area D (Popkum/Bridal Falls)

Bill Dickey (incumbent)

• Zone E (Chilliwack River Valley)

Patti MacAhonic

• Zone H (Columbia Valley/Cultus Lake/Lindell Beach)

Taryn Dixon (incumbent)

• • • • • • •

The campaign period begins on the 28th day before general election day and ends on general election day. Spending limits for candidates and third parties apply during this period.

This period runs from September 17, 2022 to October 15, 2022.

Mail-in ballot kits are now available at City Hall.

Areas D, E, and H of the Fraser Valley Regional District may request an absentee ballot to vote for School District No. 33 Trustee via the City of Chilliwack website.

To apply for a plan, you will need to go online to complete the online application process. Please click on the link below and completely fill out the form to submit your request. If you need assistance, please call the City’s Corporate Services Department at 604.793.2986. October 13 at 2 p.m. is the deadline to request a parcel post. They must be dropped off at the town hall and they will be not be accepted at the polls.

Do you have anything to add to this story, or anything else we should report? E-mail:
[email protected]

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Election BC 2022Municipal Election BCchilliwackElection 2022

Melissa C. Keyes